Introduction

My name is Laura Markowski and I currently work as a Senior Marketing Advisor at Carilion Clinic, southwest Virginia’s largest healthcare system. My specialty areas are Cardiac Services and the Department of Medicine, which includes Gastroenterology, Pulmonology, Dermatology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Neurology, and many other smaller areas. I not only market these services and physicians to the public, but I also help with business planning and strategy. Image

Besides my every day marketing responsibilities, I also manage and monitor all of Carilion’s social media networks. We’re currently on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Pinterest. In the two years I’ve been with Carilion I’m proud to say our social media presence has grown tremendously, but I know there is so much more we can and should be doing in the social media world.

That’s why I decided to enroll in this master’s program. I have a passion for multimedia communications and see a great opportunity to learn more about how to utilize social media to grow business and better reach target audiences. I hope to learn more about social media campaigns and ways to engage with communities. I know what I learn in this problem will not only help me in my current job, but in future endeavors as well!

Image

Anderson and Turner

When I’m not at work, I’m usually hanging out with my 11-year-old puggle, Misty! She’s a rescue dog, but I always tell people she rescued me! I have two nephews, Anderson is five and Turner is 3-weeks-old, so a new addition to the family has been great! I’m originally from New Jersey, but have lived in southwest Virginia for seven years. Being surrounded by the Appalachian Mountains is truly beautiful and when I have free time I love running on the trails and going for hikes. 

I’m looking forward to a great second semester and learning much more in the social media world! 

Leave a Reply

